ATO workforce

ATO workforce
Northern Territory 7
Western Australia 1,020
South Australia 1,813
Victoria 4,973
Queensland 3,376
New South Wales 6,256
Australian Capital Teritory 2,486
Tasmania 728

At 30 June 2016, the ATO employed 20,659 ongoing, non-ongoing and casual staff under the Public Service Act 1999. Of the 17,514 ongoing employees, approximately 1.7% identified as Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, an increase from 1.4% in 2014–15.

The ATO has a commitment to continue to build and motivate our workforce to be professional, accountable and responsive. External recruitment is used to refresh our workforce skills, assist cultural change and improve processes.

Continuing with our commitments to government for a more productive and efficient public service, the ATO workforce was reduced by approximately 590. This reduction was realised through a range of workforce management options, including natural attrition, redeployment, vacancy management, more efficient job and work design, as well as one large-scale voluntary redundancy process.

Refer to Appendix 8: Workforce demographics for more information on the size, location and make-up of our workforce.

ATO workforce
20,659 Employees
Female 58%
Male 42%
Part time workers 11%
Employees with over 20 years of service 3,180